Technology Development

Three Rivers Solid Waste Technology Center's mission: national resource in the development, demonstration, and commercialization of solid waste technologies, ... and extend the life of the Three Rivers Authority Landfill.

The Solid Waste Technology Center, funded through placement of $1.00 per ton in a special account, was established to serve as a development and demonstration outlet and incubator of waste management technologies.

The Solid Waste Technology Center will lead to large scale commercialization efforts for participating industries and future economic development for the region and the nation.

  • Three Rivers Solid Waste Authority is a regional government agency comprised and directed by nine counties.
  • The Authority was established in 1992 to promote environmental stewardship through the development and implementation of solid waste plans.
  • The Authority operates a Class III lined landfill in south Aiken County for disposal of the member counties’ waste.

Three Rivers Solid Waste Technology Center Board of Directors

  • Danny Fengin, Aiken County
  • Theresa Taylor, Allendale County
  • Larry Haynes, Bamberg County
  • Freddie Houston, Barnwell County, Chairman
  • Steve Tyson, Calhoun County
  • Eric Thompson, Edgefield County
  • Charles Jennings, McCormick County
  • Johnnie Wright, Orangeburg County
  • Jacob Schumpert, Saluda County
  • Sean Protzman, United States Department of Energy